en es fr it
Home arrow The World of Oil arrow PDO and PGI oils


Italy has the most PDOs for extra virgin olive oil; in fact, it has 42 PDOs and 1 PGI.

pdo_en.pngProtected Designation of Origin - PDO - is an EU classification to designate an agricultural or food product whose entire production cycle, from the raw materials to the finished product, takes place within a specific geographical area, and which cannot be reproduced elsewhere.

Protected Geographical Indication - PGIpgi_en.png - is a European classification for identifying agricultural or food products whose connection with the geographical area of reference can be limited even to a single stage of the production cycle.

However, in Italy, the PGI regulations for extra virgin olive oil require the whole production cycle, from growing the olives to bottling the oil, to take place within the same geographical area, just like for PDO.

These products follow production regulations that clearly specify the product characteristics, the geographical area, the growing and processing methods, the olive varieties and a self-regulatory code; compliance by the olive growers is constantly monitored by a body that has been certified and designated by the Ministry of Agricultural, Food and Forestry Policies.



PDO and PGI oils in Italy

The list below includes PDO and PGI oils, divided by region and province. This is a way of discovering the high number of varieties growing on the Italian peninsula that are recognized at a European level.



Aprutino Pescarese (Province of Pescara)

Colline Teatine (Province of Chieti)

Pretuziano delle Colline Teramane (Province of Teramo)


Vulture (the whole region)




Alto Crotonese (Province of Crotone)

Bruzio (Province of Cosenza)

Lametia (Province of Catanzaro)



Cilento (Province of Salerno)

Colline Salernitane (Province of Salerno)

Penisola Sorrentina (Province of Naples)

Irpinia – Colline dell’Ufita (Province of Avellino)

Terre Aurunche (Province of Caserta)


Emilia Romagna

Brisighella (Provinces of Forlì-Cesena and Ravenna)

Colline di Romagna (Provinces of Rimini, Forlì-Cesena)


Friuli Venezia Giulia

Tergeste (Province of Trieste)



Canino (Province of Viterbo)

Sabina (Provinces of Rome and Rieti)

Tuscia (Province of Viterbo)

Colline Pontine (Province of Latina)



Riviera Ligure (the whole region)



Garda (Provinces of Brescia, Mantua)

Laghi Lombardi (Provinces of Brescia, Bergamo, Como and Lecco)



Cartoceto (Province of Pesaro-Urbino)



Molise (The whole region)



Collina di Brindisi (Province of Brindisi)

Dauno (Province of Foggia)

Terra di Bari (Province of Bari)

Terra d'Otranto (Province sof Brindisi, Lecce, Taranto)

Terre Tarentine (Province of Taranto)



Sardegna (The whole region)



Monte Etna (Provinces of Catania, Enna and Messina)

Monti Iblei (Provinces of Syracuse, Ragusa and Catania)

Val di Mazara (Provinces of Palermo and Agrigento)

Valdemone (Province of Messina)

Valle del Belice (Province of Trapani)

Valli Trapanesi (Province of Trapani)



PGI Toscano (The whole region)

Chianti Classico (Provinces of Florence and Siena)

Lucca (Province of Lucca)

Terre di Siena (Province of Siena)

Seggiano (Province of Grosseto)


Trentino Alto Adige

Garda (Province of Trent)



Umbria (The whole region)



Garda (Province of Verona)

Veneto Valpolicella, Veneto Euganei e Berici, Veneto del Grappa (Provinces of Verona, Padua, Vicenza and Treviso)



Trivia about PDO and PGI oils

The first PDO oils were classified in 1996, the latest in 2007 (PDO Sardegna).

The PDO Garda oil spans 3 regions: Lombardy, Veneto, Trentino Alto Adige.

For the Liguria, Molise, Sardinia, Tuscany and Umbria Regions, the whole territories obtained European certification for olive oil production.

The region with most PDOs is Sicily, with 6.